TO:         Assemblyman Steve Englebright

New York State Senator Diane J. Savino

Tom Witt (NYHWA)

CC:         Karen Coolman Amlong

Neal Dias

DATE:    June 8, 2012

Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

I recently watched the “Workplace Bullying Press Conference April 30, 2012 ( Albany , New York)” on you tube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6pPe2gqGRI and the PANDEMIC MAGNITUDE which it infects major corporations in our country. 

I have tolerated intimidation, threats, discrimination, harassment, retaliation, and all the other methods used by large corporations in their attempts to silence the employees.  I did not speak for years because of FEAR, FEAR, and FEAR.  I was the sole support of my daughters and my mother.

I was employed throughout all the changes in the Bell System (New York Telephone, Nynex, Bell Atlantic and Verizon) for over 20 years.  I was considered “non-traditional personnel” because I was a woman in a male dominated field.  I am currently disabled.  I was exposed to toxins at ground zero after 9-11 because Verizon did not provide safety gear.

I confirm and attest that all Neal Dias has said is the truth based on my knowledge of the extremes Verizon will go to.  They want to silence an employee and get rid of him.  I have never seen them correct or modify their behavior and their HR and EEO policies are just a smoke screen to identify the employee for retaliation and to delay an employee from filing complaints outside the company.

 

I personally know of suicides due to bullying and deaths due to safety violations.  

I am enclosing my response to Verizon’s attorneys when my case was in NYSDHR (New York State Division of Human Rights.  Please be advised that it contains photos that are obscene and offensive.

My case has since been moved to federal court.  For those of you that have access to PACER it is case # 10-cv-2176.  I do not have hopes of winning my case because I have exhausted my savings and I know Verizon can out finance me and out gun me.

Sincerely,

Joy R. Garofalo

j0yr1de@optonline.net

631-828-8531

